Hacksaw Ridge

poster01Title: Hacksaw Ridge

Release Date: November 2, 2016

Rating: 8/10

Overview/plot: Follow Desmond T. Doss as he joins the Military as a conscientious Objector during World War 2. In Okinawa (the bloodiest battle of WW2) he never fired a shot and saved 75 men. He was the first conscientious objector to ever get the congressional medal of honor.

My thoughts: Being a history buff I loved that this is based off a true story, and I think Mel Gibson did a great job directing it. I am blown away by Andrew Garfield and Vince Vaughn in this movie. It is hard for me to see Andrew Garfield as this character because my favorite movie of his is Spider Man and Vince Vaughn playing in a war movie was difficult also. Both actors did a great job in their roles. It was very gory which I think portrayed this battle very well. My only problem with this movie is that I have noticed that it is not totally accurate. I think that is because Doss died in 2006 before this was going to be made into a movie. Other then that I think this was fantastic and I could watch it over and over again and feel the same way.

My favorite Quotes: There are two quotes that really stuck with me after watching this movie.

  1. “their animals” (this is in reference to the Japanese as the second wave of men gear up to go to Hacksaw Ridge)
  2. “please lord help me get one more” (this is what Doss was telling himself while he was on the ridge alone saving people)

Thanks for reading my movie review. I would love comments and suggestions (movies, books, tv shows, topics) as always.

Kels

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

